You appear to be using an unsupported browser, and it may not be able to display this site properly. You may wish to upgrade your browser.

Criminal courts

There are 4 different types of criminal courts in Scotland:

  • High Court
  • Sheriff Court
  • Sheriff Appeal Court
  • Justice of the Peace Court

Visit the Scottish Courts and Tribunal Service website to find out about the crimes each court deals with and the level of sentences they can give.

Back to top