Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA)
Last updated: 12 November 2019

View an EIA

To view an EIA, you should contact the decision maker, known as the 'competent authority'.

EIA Regimes and competent authorities

In Scotland there are 9 EIA regimes, each regime has its own competent authority as shown in the table below. Competent authorities may be a Scottish Government Department or Agency, local council or a mixture of more than one.

EIA regime Competent authority
Agriculture (including Land Drainage and Irrigation Projects) Scottish Ministers (Rural Payments and Services)
Energy Scottish Ministers (Energy Consents Division)
Flood Management Local council
Forestry Scottish Ministers (Forestry Commission Scotland)
Marine Licensing Scottish Ministers (Marine Scotland)
Planning Planning Authority
Ports and Harbours Scottish Ministers (Transport Scotland)
Transport and Works Projects Scottish Ministers (Transport Scotland)
Trunk Roads Scottish Ministers (Transport Scotland)

Check a type of Environmental Impact Assessment

Check EIAs on the following subject areas:

Planning EIAs

All planning related EIAs are held by your local planning authority.

Flood Management EIAs:

All flood management related EIAs are held by your local authority.