You appear to be using an unsupported browser, and it may not be able to display this site properly. You may wish to upgrade your browser.

Renewable Energy Generation Relief

You may be able to get 100% off your non-domestic rates if your renewable energy scheme is set up to entitle one or more community organisations to either:

  • at least 15% of the annual profit
  • an amount equal to the annual profit equivalent to 0.5 megawatt of the total installed capacity of the project

Renewable sources that can get the relief

To apply for the relief your scheme has to produce heat or power from any of the following sources:

  • biomass
  • biofuels
  • fuel cells
  • photovoltaics
  • water (including waves and tides, but excluding production from the pumped storage of water)
  • wind
  • solar power
  • geothermal sources

The generation activity should both:

  • take place at the eligible property itself
  • be the main use of the property such as a wind farm, but not a wind turbine above a shop

Relief calculation

How much relief you can get depends on the rateable value. Rateable values of:

  • up to £145,000 can get 100% relief
  • £145,001 to £430,000 can 50% relief
  • £430,001 to £860,000 can get 25% relief
  • £860,001 to £4 million can get 10% relief
  • more than £4 million can get 2.5% relief

You can get 60% relief for individual properties if both of the following apply, your:

  • scheme produces heat or power from water (including waves and tides, but excluding production from the pumped storage of water)
  • property has a rateable value of less than £5 million

This 60% relief will be available until 2032.

How to apply

Check how to apply with your local council.

Visit Aberdeen City CouncilVisit Aberdeenshire CouncilVisit Angus CouncilVisit Argyll and Bute CouncilVisit Clackmannanshire CouncilVisit Comhairle nan Eilean Siar (Western Isles Council)Visit Dumfries & Galloway CouncilVisit Dundee City CouncilVisit East Ayrshire CouncilVisit East Dunbartonshire CouncilVisit East Lothian CouncilVisit East Renfrewshire CouncilVisit Edinburgh CouncilVisit Falkirk CouncilVisit Fife CouncilVisit Glasgow City CouncilVisit Highland CouncilVisit Inverclyde CouncilVisit Midlothian CouncilVisit Moray CouncilVisit North Ayrshire CouncilVisit North Lanarkshire CouncilVisit Orkney Islands CouncilVisit Perth & Kinross CouncilVisit Renfrewshire CouncilVisit Scottish Borders CouncilVisit Shetland CouncilVisit South Ayrshire CouncilVisit South Lanarkshire CouncilVisit Stirling CouncilVisit West Dunbartonshire CouncilVisit West Lothian Council
Back to top