National Care Standards

Last updated: 6 March 2017

Everyone is entitled to safe, high-quality, compassionate care. Different care services offer different types of support, but they all need to meet the National Care Standards, set by the Scottish Government.

Principles of the National Care Standards

The standards describe what people can expect from different services and are based on 6 main principles:

  • dignity
  • privacy
  • choice
  • safety
  • realising potential
  • equality and diversity

Download a copy of the standards from the Care Inspectorate website.

Care services covered by the standards

  • care at home
  • support services, like day care
  • short breaks and respite care
  • adult placement services
  • hospice care
  • housing support services
  • nurse agencies
  • care homes for older people

How care is regulated

When the Care Inspectorate inspects care services, it checks to make sure the right standards are being met and can take action if this isn't happening.

You can phone the Care Inspectorate on 0345 600 9527. This should cost the same price as calling a local number from a mobile or landline.

Find out more about how care is regulated.

Changes to the standards

The Scottish Government is reviewing the National Care Standards.

Find out more about the review of the standards at the National Care Standards Review website.