Apply for or renew a Blue Badge

Last updated: 14 February 2018

Eligibility – who can have one?

Eligibility for a Blue Badge is mainly for those people who have severe mobility problems. Some people can get a Blue Badge automatically and others may need further assessment.

You can apply for a badge for:

  • yourself
  • someone else
  • on behalf of an organisation

Download the application guide for further information.

Check your eligibility online

Use the Blue Badge eligibility tool to see if you meet the criteria for a Blue Badge.

There are special rules for people with mental disorders or cognitive impairments.

People who lack awareness of danger from traffic

People who pose a risk to themselves or others in traffic because of a mental condition may be eligible for a Blue Badge.

Eligibility criteria

To meet the eligibility criteria for a Blue Badge the applicant must:

  • Have a diagnosed mental disorder (a legal term we have to use that means a mental illness, a personality disorder or a learning disability)
  • Lack awareness of danger from traffic, meaning something is likely to risk the applicant's safety or the safety of other people during journeys

You will need to show that other strategies to control the risk don't work.

If you want to apply for a Blue Badge under this criteria, this is separate to the normal Blue Badge application process. Contact your local council for the full eligibility criteria and to see how to apply.

Apply for or renew a Blue Badge
Eligibility – who can have one?